The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) elections commenced in Laikipia on Thursday, marking the beginning of the process to elect a new president following the conclusion of Alex Theuri’s tenure.

The election, which commenced early Thursday morning and is scheduled to conclude at 5 pm, is taking place in all law courts across the country.

Conducted by the Independent Elections and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), the voting process will also determine the LSK male representative to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) and council members.

Kahura Karua, the Presiding Officer at the Nanyuki Law Court polling station, informed the media that the voting process began smoothly, with approximately 25 percent of voters casting their ballots by 11 am.

“At this polling station, there are 71 registered voters, and we have seen about 18 members casting their votes so far. The election involves eight ballot boxes for the eight representatives being elected,” stated Karua.

He disclosed that in the Nanyuki law court alone, there were around 71 registered voters, with over 15,700 voters participating across the country.

The presidency of the LSK is a non-renewable two-year term and holds significant importance in overseeing the affairs of the society.

Several candidates are vying for the position of LSK president, including Harriet Mboche, Kipkoech Ngetich, Faith Odhiambo, Caroline Kamande, and Peter Wanyama. The successful candidate among the five contenders will become the 51st president to assume the leadership of the LSK.

As the election proceeds, stakeholders eagerly await the outcome, recognizing the pivotal role the new president will play in steering the Law Society of Kenya forward and upholding the principles of justice and legal ethics within the country.

Leave a Reply