Voters in Busia decided to send home 31 out of the 35 elected Members of County Assembly (MCAs) who served in the county’s second Assembly between 2017 and 2022. This electoral change ensured that the Azimio La Umoja coalition, led by former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, gained control of the County Assembly.

Gaddy Jakaa, who broke records by being the only MCA to serve since 2013 when devolution began, was among the four MCAs who survived the electoral wave. Overall, the ODM party, part of the Azimio coalition, secured 19 seats out of 35 in the county, providing them with numerical strength to elect the County Assembly Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

The election saw a reduction in the number of re-elected representatives compared to the 2017 polls. Notable newcomers include Okello Mudibo (Mayenje, ODM), Leonard Oyondo (Amukura East, ODM), Eunice Wandera (Bukhayo East, ODM), and Peter Tallam (Bukhayo West, ODM).

The movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) and Defence CS Eugene Wamalwa’s DAP-K emerged as the second-largest parties after ODM, producing four MCAs each. Parties allied to Raila’s Azimio coalition secured slots in the County Assembly, solidifying Azimio’s control.

The gender balance in the election resulted in the election of only two women, Wandera and independent candidate Beatrice Kanoti. ODM, with its 19 seats, exhibited increased strength compared to 2017 when it had 17 MCAs in the Assembly.

Leave a Reply